Chakra ( Sanskrit)= Wheel

Chakras are energy centers in our body which control our body functions and mind. They are situated along our spine, from the base to the top. In Yoga we mention seven main Chakras eventhough there are countless.

Chakrast are responsible to control and supply energy to certain parts of our body and are run by energy, prana, Ki, Chi. Prana is all around us and with breath we bring this pranic energy in to our body. It runs along our spine all the way to the base through energy channels, nadis. At the bottom it unites in one main energy channel called Shusumna. So if our spine is healthy, straight then energy flows through Shusumna without any obstacles. And consequently our chakras are being supplied with energy and also they supply energy to parts of body with which chakras are connected to.

In case some chakra does not function well it effects body functions and organs. Because of energy blocage disease develops. So this is why we have to take good care of our spine. If the spine is healthy it protects spinal cord as it should so energy will flow smoothly through our body..

Seven main Chakras:

Mooladhara – Root chakra ( Saturn Center):

  • Colour: Ruby red
  • Location: Base of the spine
  • Physical body: Muscular System, Genitals
  • Psychological meaning: grounding, a will to live, selfconfidence, relationship to parents, physical and psychological strenght, wealth, occupation, home, physical security, needs, possesion

Swadhisthana – Sex chakra ( Jupiter Center):

  • Colour: Orange
  • Location: Two inches under belly button
  • Physical body: Sex organs, bladder, skin
  • Psychological meaning: creativity, learning, attitude towards our body, sexuality perception, craving for bodily pleasures, addictions

Manipurak – Solar Plexus ( Mars Center):

  • Colour: Yellow
  • Location: Between belly button and plexus
  • Physical body: stomach, liver, pancreas, adrenals
  • Psychological effect: inner strenght, self confidence, stability, talents, the need to control

Anahat – Heart chakra ( Venus Center):

  • Colour: Green
  • Location: Heart, Chest
  • Physical body: Heart, Main Arteries, Thymus, Immune System
  • Psychological effect: Feelings, accepting and giving love, attachment to people, forgiveness, resentment

Vishuda – Throath chakra ( Mercury Center):

  • Colour: Light blue
  • Location: Throath
  • Physical body: Thyroids, metabolism
  • Psychological effect: communication, expression, determination, creativity, it is a boundry between mental and emotional, speaking the truthst, ustvarjalnost, je meja med mentalnim in čustvenim, govorjenje resnice

Ajna chakra – Third eye ( Solar Center, eye of Shiva):

  • Colour: Indigo blue
  • Location: between eyebrows, Hypophysis
  • Physical body: Hypophysis, sinuses
  • Psychological effect: intuition, seeing, way of thinking, memory, focus, concentration, thoughts and feelings about future and past, believing in supernatural

Sahasrar – Crown chakra ( Lotus flower):

  • Colour: Violet
  • Location: Crown of the head
  • Physical body: Pineal gland, brain, eyes, ears
  • Psychological effect: connection to Higher Self, spirituality, trust duhovnost, zaupanje


© 2019 OM Yoga Center Celje. Vse pravice pridržane.
Izdelava in oblikovanje PCMobil.